People

Top Row (L-R): Dr. Timothy R. Blake, Rebecca L. McClellan, Wilson C. Ho, Dr. Jessica R. Vargas (Wender Group), Colin J. McKinlay, Professor Robert M. Waymouth, Dr. James C.A. Flanagan, Naomi E. Clayman, Dr. Jelena Samonina-Kosicka, Weiwei Wu
Bottom Row (L-R): Xiangyi Zhang, Dr. Andrey E. Rudenko, Cheyenne R. Peltier, Binhong “Ben” Lin, Katherine L. Walker, Elizabeth A. McLoughlin, Dr. Christopher R. Turlington
Not Pictured: Srinivasan Ramakrishnan
Prof. Robert M. Waymouth
Principle Investigator
(650) 723-4515
waymouth@stanford.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Biography

Born in 1960 in Warner Robins, Georgia, Robert Waymouth studied chemistry and mathematics at Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Virginia (B.S. and B.A., respectively, both summa cum laude, 1982). He developed an interest in synthetic and mechanistic organometallic chemistry during his doctoral studies in chemistry at the California Institute of Technology under Professor R.H. Grubbs (Ph.D., 1987). His postdoctoral research with Professor Piero Pino at the Institut fur Polymere, ETH Zurich, Switzerland, focused on catalytic hydrogenation with chiral metallocene catalysts. He joined the Stanford University faculty as assistant professor in 1988, becoming full professor in 1997 and in 2000 the Robert Eckles Swain Professor of Chemistry.

 

Group Members


Dr. Timothy R. Blake
Postdoctoral Scholar
Palladium Catalyzed Oxidative Lactonization and Organocatalytic Polymerization of Functionalized Lactones
tblake@stanford.edu
Weiwei Wu
Graduate Student
Cobalt Shvo Catalyst Analogs and Electrocatalysis
weiweiwu@stanford.edu
Naomi E. Clayman
Graduate Student
Dual Activity Catalytic Systems
nclayman@stanford.edu
Keith C. Armstrong
Graduate Student
Investigation of CO2 Reduction Performance of Electrochemical Hydrogen Atom Transfer – Regenerable Bis(imino)pyridine Ruthenium Complexes
kcarmstr@stanford.edu
Conor M. Galvin
Graduate Student
conor22@stanford.edu
Colin J. McKinlay
Graduate Student
Co-advisor: Prof. Paul A. Wender
Organocatalytic Ring-Opening Polymerization to Access Novel Biomaterials for the Delivery of Oligonucleotides and Small-molecule Therapeutics
colinjm@stanford.edu
Binhong “Ben” Lin
Webmaster, Photographer
Graduate Student
Development of Fast and Selective Catalysts for the Ring-Opening Polymerization of Renewable Monomers
binhong@stanford.edu
Elizabeth A. McLoughlin
Graduate Student
Investigation of Novel Homogenous Electrocatalysts and Development of Analytical Techniques to Study them in situ
emclough@stanford.edu
Frank X. Greene
Graduate Student
Investigation into Ring-Opening Polymerization of Dithiolanes
fgreene@stanford.edu
Wilson C. Ho
Graduate Student
Aerobic Palladium Catalysis
wilsonho@stanford.edu
Katherine L. Walker
Graduate Student
Co-advisor: Prof. Richard N. Zare
Elucidation of Novel Reaction Mechanisms Using In Situ Mass Spectrometry
kwalker7@stanford.edu
Rebecca L. McClellan
Graduate Student
Synthesis and Characterization of Novel Polymer Topologies
rmcclell@stanford.edu
Cheyenne R. Peltier
Undergraduate Researcher
DFT Investigations of Dithiolane Ring-Opening Thermodynamics
cheyenne@stanford.edu